Young Adult Fiction & Non-Fiction

Sort by:

Animal farm

Animal farm

Odyr, author, illustrator
2019


The ballad of songbirds and snakes

The ballad of songbirds and snakes

Collins, Suzanne, author
2020

Revisit the world of Panem sixty-four years before the events of The Hunger Games, starting on the morning of the reaping of the Tenth Hunger Games.

Show More


The daughters of Ys

The daughters of Ys

Anderson, M. T., author
2020

"Ys, city of wealth and wonder, has a history of dark secrets. Queen Malgven used magic to raise the great walls that keep Ys safe from the tumultuous sea. But after the queen's inexplicable death, her daughters drift apart. Rozenn, the heir to the throne, spends her time on the moors communing with wild animals, while Dahut, the youngest, enjoys the splendors of royal life and is eager to take part in palace intrigue. When Rozenn and Dahut's bond is irrevocably changed, the fate of Ys is sealed, exposing the monsters that lurk in plain view. M. T. Anderson and Jo Rioux reimagine this classic Breton folktale of love, loss, and rebirth, revealing the secrets that lie beneath the surface."-- Provided by publisher.

Show More


The giver : graphic novel

The giver : graphic novel

Russell, P. Craig, adapter, illustrator
2019

Jonas' life assignment is as the Receiver of Memory, where he will apprentice with the Giver and become a storehouse of all the things humanity left behind when it entered utopia: color, emotion, and even more complicated secrets.

Show More


Grenade

Grenade

Gratz, Alan, 1972-, author
2018

On April 1, 1945 with the battle of Okinawa beginning, fourteen-year-old native Okinawan Hideki, drafted into the Blood and Iron Student Corps, is handed two grenades and told to go kill American soldiers; small for his age Hideki does not really want to kill anyone, he just wants to find his family, and his struggle across the island will finally bring him face-to-face with Ray, a marine in his very first battle--and the choice he makes then will change his life forever.

Show More


Ground Zero

Ground Zero

Gratz, Alan, 1972-
2021

Brandon is visiting his dad on the 107th floor of the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001 when the attack comes; Reshmina is a girl in Afghanistan who has grown up in the aftermath of that attack but dreams of peace, becoming a teacher and escaping her village and the narrow role that the Taliban believes is appropriate for women--both are struggling to survive, both changed forever by the events of 9/11.

Show More


The hate u give

The hate u give

Thomas, Angie, author
2018

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed. Soon afterward, his death is a national headline.

Show More


Kings, queens, and in-betweens

Kings, queens, and in-betweens

Boteju, Tanya, author
2019

After a bewildering encounter at her small town's annual summer festival, seventeen-year-old biracial, queer Nima plunges into the world of drag, where she has the chance to explore questions of identity, acceptance, self-expression, and love.

Show More


Loveless

Loveless

Oseman, Alice, author.
2020

It was all sinking in. I'd never had a crush on anyone. No boys, no girls, not a single person I had ever met. What did that mean? Georgia has never been in love, never kissed anyone, never even had a crush - but as a fanfic-obsessed romantic she's sure she'll find her person one day. As she starts university with her best friends, Pip and Jason, in a whole new town far from home, Georgia's ready to find romance, and with her outgoing roommate on her side and a place in the Shakespeare Society, her 'teenage dream' is in sight. But when her romance plan wreaks havoc amongst her friends, Georgia ends up in her own comedy of errors, and she starts to question why love seems so easy for other people but not for her. With new terms thrown at her - asexual, aromantic - Georgia is more uncertain about her feelings than ever. Is she destined to remain loveless? Or has she been looking for the wrong thing all along? This wise, warm and witty story of identity and self-acceptance sees Alice Oseman on towering form as Georgia and her friends discover that true love isn't limited to romance.

Show More



Midnight sun

Midnight sun

Meyer, Stephenie, 1973- author
2020

The story of Bella and Edward from "Twilight" told from Edward's point of view takes on a new and decidedly dark twist. Meeting Bella is both the most unnerving and intriguing event he has experienced in all his years as a vampire. As we learn more fascinating details about Edward's past and the complexity of his inner thoughts, we understand why this is the defining struggle of his life. How can he justify following his heart if it means leading Bella into danger?

Show More


Nightshade

Nightshade

Horowitz, Anthony, 1955- author
2020

Teen spy Alex Rider is sent to a maximum security facility in Gibraltar to impersonate Julius Grief while seeking information about a new criminal organization called Nightshade.

Show More


Our chemical hearts

Our chemical hearts

Sutherland, Krystal, author
2017


Refugee

Refugee

Gratz, Alan, 1972- author
2017

Although separated by continents and decades, Josef, a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany; Isabel, a Cuban girl trying to escape the riots and unrest plaguing her country in 1994; and Mahmoud, a Syrian boy in 2015 whose homeland is torn apart by violence and destruction, embark on harrowing journeys in search of refuge, discovering shocking connections that tie their stories together.

Show More


Return of the thief : a queen's thief novel

Return of the thief : a queen's thief novel

Turner, Megan Whalen, author
2020

Neither accepted nor beloved, Eugenides is the uneasy linchpin of a truce on the Lesser Peninsula, where he has risen to be high king of Attolia, Eddis, and Sounis. As the treacherous Baron Erondites schemes anew and a prophecy appears to foretell the death of the king, the ruthless Mede empire prepares to strike. The novels in this series are rich with political machinations, divine intervention, dangerous journeys, battles lost and won, power, passion, and deception. Features a cast list of the characters in the Queen?́?s Thief novels, as well as two maps?́?a map of the world of the Queen?́?s Thief, and a map exclusive to this edition.

Show More


Sabrina the teenage witch. 1

Sabrina the teenage witch. 1

Thompson, Kelly, 1976- author
2019

"Sabrina is a teen witch who's struggling with balancing the double life of high school and her burgeoning powers. Newly relocated to Greendale with her aunts Hilda and Zelda (also witches), Sabrina is trying to make the best of being the new girl in town which so far includes two intriguing love interests, an instant rivalry, a couple of misfits that could turn into BFFs, and trying to save the high school (and maybe the world) from crazy supernatural events. NBD!"--Provided by publisher.

Show More


When you ask me where I'm going

When you ask me where I'm going

Kaur, Jasmin, author
2019

Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, Jasmin Kaur's stunning debut novel is a collection of poetry, illustrations, and prose.

Show More


You should see me in a crown

You should see me in a crown

Johnson, Leah (Young adult author), author.
2020

Liz Lighty has always done her best to avoid the spotlight in her small, wealthy, and prom-obsessed midwestern high school. Her family is black and rather poor, especially since her mother died. Liz has concentrated on her grades and her musical ability in the hopes that it will win her a scholarship to elite Pennington College and their famous orchestra where she plans to study medicine. When that scholarship falls through she is forced to turn to her school's scholarship for prom king and queen. Soon Liz is plunged into the gauntlet of social media (which she hates) and led to discoveries about her own identity and the value of true friendships. -- adapted from run-on sentence provided

Show More